Local Plan Review


Consultations

Affordable and Local Needs Housing Supplementary Planning Document (SPD)

Maidstone Borough Council has recently adopted its local plan (October 2017). As part of this process we have created an Affordable and Local Needs Housing Supplementary Planning Document (the SPD) which is now open for public consultation. The document provides further advice on how relevant housing policies in the adopted local plan are to be implemented.

We’ll be asking for your views on the matters covered within the document. The consultation will open on the 7th October 2019 and close at 5pm 18th November 2019.

Please send us your comments using the consultation portal https://maidstone-consult.objective.co.uk/portal/

Alternatively comments can be sent by email to ldf@maidstone.gov.uk or by post to:

Strategic Planning
Maidstone Borough Council,
Maidstone House,
King Street,
Maidstone,
ME15 6JQ

You will not receive a bespoke response but we will take all comments into consideration as the Local Plan is progressed.

    Local Plan Review frequently asked questions

    What is the Maidstone Borough Local Plan Review?

    Open

    A Local Plan is a document produced by councils across the country which guides the way new development will happen over the coming years. It provides the key framework for future decisions on planning applications. It sets out how much new development is needed, where it should be built and what supporting infrastructure such as roads, schools and health centres should be provided.  It also guides the quality of development

    There is already a Local Plan in place (the ’Maidstone Borough Local Plan’) and reviewing the plan now means that we will continue to have a Local Plan that is fit for purpose into the future.  The Local Plan Review will look ahead to at least 2037 and possibly further into the future than that.

    Why the Local Plan Review important?

    Open

    Having an up to date Local Plan is key to keeping local control over new development.  Without an up to date Local Plan in place, it is much more likely that planning applications will be approved on appeal by the Government’s Planning Inspectorate for developments which the council considers are inappropriate. An up to date Local Plan is also the best way to protect what we value most about the borough including our distinctive heritage, important wildlife habitats and attractive countryside.

    It is also an important way that we can help to tackle the global challenge of climate change at the local level. Further, if the council does not make progress with its Local Plan Review, the Government could decide to take over its plan-making powers and prepare the Local Plan itself.  Again this would mean key decisions about the future development of the borough would not be made locally.

    Why has MBC already decided to embrace growth and enable infrastructure?

    Open

    Before starting the Local Plan Review, MBC prepared its own Strategic Plan (2019-45).  This sets out a long term and ambitious vision for the borough and ways it will be achieved.  The council has decided to ‘embrace growth and enable infrastructure’ as one of its four key priorities. This means that it is taking a positive view of growth and the benefits it can bring for all our local communities including ensuring that the right infrastructure is delivered in conjunction with new development. The Strategic Plan is available here

    What happens at this stage? 

    Open

    This is the first public consultation stage for the Local Plan Review.  We have published a consultation document called ‘Scoping, Themes & Issues’ which provides background about the Local Plan Review, the matters it may need to tackle and suggestions for what the way forward could be.  You can give us your views on the overall scope of the Local Plan Review by answering some or all of the consultation questions in the document.

    What will happen to my comments? 

    Open

    Your comments will be published on our consultation portal (via our website) so you can view your comments and those made by others.  Your name will be published but other personal data (such as addresses) will not be published.  You will not receive a bespoke response to your comments but we will consider each comment we receive and take these into account as the Local Plan Review is progressed.

    What happens next?

    Open

    The consultation responses are an important influence on the Local Plan Review. Other important factors are national planning legislation and guidance and the council’s own Strategic Plan.

    Specialist evidential studies will also be an important input into the Local Plan Review. These help to ensure that the Local Plan Review has a robust basis and can withstand technical scrutiny.  Amongst other things, these studies will give us information on the current and future needs of the local economy, specialist housing needs and transport impacts.  The studies will be published on the council’s website as they are completed.

    Will I have a further chance to comment? 

    Open

    Yes. A second public consultation on Preferred Approaches for the Local Plan Review is scheduled for February 2020 to be followed by consultation on a full draft of the Local Plan Review in October 2020.

    Where can I find out more about the Local Plan Review?  

    Open

    Information regarding the MBC Local Plan Review will be updated throughout the Review process on this page.

    If you are unable to find the answers to your questions on these pages, please do not hesitate to email the Strategic Planning team.

    Call for Sites

    Call for sites is now closed.

    Local Development Scheme

    We're required by government to prepare a Local Development Scheme (LDS). A LDS sets out the timetable for the delivery of planning policy documents like our Local Plan.

    We adopted our Local Plan in October 2017 and intend to review it. The LDS sets out the timetable for our Local Plan Review.

    It was approved by Full Council on 18 July 2018 and took effect the same day.

    To find out more view our Local Development Scheme Document.


    Sports Facilities and Playing Pitch Strategies

    The Sports Facilities Strategy and the Playing Pitch Strategy form part of the evidence base for the Local Plan.  The strategies will be reviewed as part of the Local Plan Review process, to ensure that the identified needs for new and improved sports facilities throughout the borough are kept up-to-date.

    View the Sports Facilities Strategy

    View the Playing Pitch Strategy

    Sustainability Appraisal

    The Sustainability Appraisal assessment process communicates significant sustainability issues and effects of emerging plans and policies. The appraisal informs the plan-making process by helping refine the contents of documents. This will help maximise the benefits of sustainable development to avoid or minimise adverse effects.

    A Scoping Report has been produced to provide context and determine the scope of the Sustainability Appraisal. It sets out the assessment framework for undertaking the later stages of the Sustainability Appraisal.

    The report has been published for consultation to the bodies of Historic England, Natural England and the Environment Agency. The consultation will run for 5 weeks between 4 February 2019 and 11 March 2019.

    Statement of Community Involvement 2018

    The Statement of Community Involvement 2018 sets out when and how stakeholders and the local community can get involved in the preparation of local plans, neighbourhood development plans and supplementary planning documents, and be involved in the process of decision making on planning applications.

    Our A-Z

    If you cannot find what you are looking for in our search facility, you can use our A-Z index to find the service you require.

    A

    B

    C

    D

    E

    F

    G

    H

    I

    J

    K

    L

    M

    N

    O

    P

    Q

    R

    S

    T

    U

    V

    W

    X

    Y

    Z